Cowgate v Consett Cricket Club Consett CC 3rd XI on Sun 13 May 2018 at 1:30
Consett Cricket Club Lost by 8 runs

Match report Second game of the season and this time it was a visit to last seasons champions Cowgate. The captain called correctly and put them in hoping to skittle them cheaply and knock off the runs in search of their first victory of the season.

An excellent start from Marshall and Smith had he hosts in all kinds of trouble as they were reduced to 32/4 early in the game. Both players finishing with excellent figures, Marshall especially rounding off a fine week as he finished with 3 for 29 to go with his 4 for 22 on Thursday night against Lanchester. Further wickets from Wilklinson and Bradley eventually reduced Cowgate to 90 for 8 giving the visitors real hope of pulling off a victory against the odds. However there was a recovery just around the corner. Ali and Shahzad combined together to take the team past 125 before Shahzad was out to the bowling of Pyke before Bhugio teamed up with his captain to take them to an eventual score of 167 all out. All in all not a bad effort from Consett but could maybe have been a little better.

In reply the in form Bradley was joined by O'Sullivan to get the reply off to a good start. However this wasn't to be the case. Bradley first man out for 5 with O'Neill following for a duck to leave Consett 10 for 2. Cook and O'Sullivan started to rebuild but Cook fell for 16 with Cox going not long after for 11. This brought Pyke to the wicket who is well known for his 3rd X1 heroics with the bat in seasons gone by. However he soon lost O'Sullivan for 22 to a criminal run out where he didn't slide his bat in. Hunter, Wilkinson and Marshall all followed for low scores as Consett found themselves 95 for 8 at the 30 over mark. Pyke sprung into life however whilst accompanied by Smith and they pushed the score beyond 130 before Smith was caught. Pyke brought up his half century and together with Johnson edged the team closer. In the 39th over he went big hitting several boundaries before off the final ball Johnson was unfortunate to be run out with a direct hit from the boundary when coming back for a second to leave Consett agonisingly close but defeated by the small margin of 8 runs and Pyke left stranded on 76.

A much improved performance from the team against a strong outfit and hopefully the first win of the season isn't too far away. The next game will be Bank Holiday Sunday 27th May as they make the trip to Ryhope hoping to get their first 20 points of the season.

Man Of The Match - Daniel Pyke
Dick Of The Day - Dan O'Sullivan

Cowgate Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
1nb 2w 2b  
for 10 wickets
167 (38.4 overs)
Rashid Mahmood b  Jack Marshall 8
Aqid Shahzad ct  Tom Johnson b Nathan Smith 9
Ehsan Ashraf ct  Ryan O'Neill b Jack Marshall 18
Sajid Hameed st  Ryan O'Neill b Jack Marshall 6
Mohammad Iqbal b  Nathan Smith 1
Kashif Sarwar b  Jamie Bradley 16
Abdul Ghaffer ct  Ryan O'Neill b Simon Wilkinson 14
Yasin M Hafeez ct  Tom Johnson b Simon Wilkinson 17
Asim Shahzad ct  Dan O'Sullivan b Dan Pyke 26
Amjad Ali Not Out  27
Mir Mohammed Bhugio ct  Daniel Pyke b Nick Cook 20

Consett Cricket Club Consett CC 3rd XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Jack Marshall8.022939.673.63
Nathan Smith8.0222211.002.75
Simon Wilkinson8.0228214.003.50
Jamie Bradley8.0044144.005.50
Nicholas Cook3.4026126.007.09
Daniel Pyke3.0016116.005.33

Consett Cricket Club Consett CC 3rd XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
3nb 5w 6b 1lb 
for 10 wickets

(39.0 overs)
Jamie Bradley b  Mohammad Iqbal 5
Dan O'Sullivan Run out  22 1
Ryan O'Neill ct  Unsure b Mohammad Iqbal 0 2 1
Nicholas Cook b  Mohammad Iqbal 16
Ian Cox ct  Amjad Ali b Yasin M Hafeez 11
Daniel Pyke Not Out  76 1
Anthony Hunter ct  Ehsan Ashraf b Yasin M Hafeez 2
Simon Wilkinson lbw  Sajid Hameed 6
Jack Marshall b  Aqid Shahzad 0
Nathan Smith ct  Unsure b Mir Mohammed Bhugio 5
Tom Johnson Run out  1 2

Cowgate Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Mohammad Iqbal8.021936.332.37
Amjad Ali8.003400.004.25
Mir Mohammad Bhugio5.0124124.004.80
Yasin M Hafeez8.0238219.004.75
Sajid Hameed5.0120120.004.00
Aqid Shahzad5.0117117.003.40